Letter of rec - asking over email

All the advice I've read on asking for LORs is that it must be done in person. In my case, I graduated college 3 years ago and am unable to find out what the office hours are of the professor I'm hoping will write one of my LORs. Also, I feel like jogging her memory of me with an emailed note first would be to my advantage, since it's been 4 years since I took her class. Would it be so horrible to make an initial LOR request over email while also asking for her office hours this semester (or another time she's available), then coming in in person and giving her additional information, etc.? #help

Comments

• Kermit750Kermit750 Alum Member
    2124 karma

I think an email is totally fine when initiating a conversation with the recommender.

• xenonhexafluoroxenonhexafluoro Alum Member
    428 karma

I have 5 letters of recommendation on file (overkill, I know), and all of my initial requests were by email. I think asking about office hours is a great idea, or alternatively, you could do a phone or skype call.

• bartlet4americabartlet4america Alum Member
    29 karma

I asked for all of my LORs over e-mail this summer (graduated last December) BUT I had great relationships with all three professors. I had visited all of them during office hours. Took multiple classes with two of them (2 with one, 4 with the other) and got all A's. My major was fairly small so I knew they hadn't forgotten me. I will be following up completed LORs with personally delivered thank you notes and baked goods =)

I would ask in person if
    a) there is a chance they will not remember you
    b) you got anything less than an A in their class
    c) you never met with them outside of class
    d) you are uncertain they will provide a STRONG letter

I also tailored each letter to the professor and offered to come in for office hours in the fall or send additional information (such as a resume).

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma