Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Resume for old people

Hey everyone,

I'm an older student with lots of job experience. For the law school resumes, do they have to be extensive? Would UCLA care that I worked at Ticketmaster in the 90's?

Comments

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma

I think approach it like you would any other resume - put in the relevant and recent stuff, cut off things in the past that don't matter as much. I've been out of school for 10+ years, so I didn't put in old summer jobs and part time things. There's usually a place within the application to enter in all of your work information, so your resume can be shorter.

• drbrown2drbrown2 Alum Member
    2227 karma

I'm not an admissions expert, so definitely seek some information from someone with more knowledge of the admissions process here in the 7sage community. However, I will be limiting my resume work experience to my previous 3 jobs (10 year span) because they demonstrate professional growth and accomplishments, and other skill sets I feel make me a strong candidate now.

If Ticketmaster demonstrates an important skill or accomplishment then include it. If it was just another job, I don't think schools want a complete employment history and I would limit jobs to more recent and relevant ones.

• FixedDiceFixedDice Member
    1804 karma

Many schools are happy with two-page résumés, so some curtailing is fine.

• LSAT_WreckerLSAT_Wrecker Member
    edited October 2018 4850 karma