Neck pain - anybody else?

jcraigcanjcraigcan Alum Member
edited November 2018 in General 44 karma

I am having serious neck and upper back pain from studying for LSAT. I am studying 4-5 hours per day, and it is really affecting my performance.

Has anybody had this problem? If yes, what did you do ?

Comments

• PeaceofmindPeaceofmind Alum Member
    446 karma

It’s probably from sitting in the same posture for a long time. You need to loosen up your muscles. Exercise and doing stretches will help. I had same problems before and the best way is to exercise.

• Sara_3080Sara_3080 Alum Member
    edited November 2018 432 karma

omg YES. So much back pain every day :'( I get it in my neck all the way down to my lower back. I'm studying anywhere between 4-7 hours a day. I had to pause my timer once during a preptest because I was in SO MUCH pain. What I've been doing that helps somewhat though is stretching every night and yoga. I did this one the other night and it helped :) Good luck!

• _oshun1__oshun1_ Alum Member
    edited November 2018 3652 karma

Yeah I also got vertigo and heart burn a couple weeks after the lsat which both can be caused by stress. Just make sure to maintain a work out regimen and stretch a lot and do yoga. I went from working out 5 days a week to working out maybe once during the week and then a couple times over the weekend and it messed up my body

• 1000001910000019 Alum Member
    3279 karma

Consult a physician for exercises you can do to stretch and strengthen your cervical spine. And whenever possible, you want to avoid sitting for extended periods of time.

Heating pads and NSAID gels can also help treat the symptoms.

• SLP_futureJDSLP_futureJD Alum Member
    464 karma