Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Take January LSAT or Wait?

Harvard2020Harvard2020 Core Member
in General 109 karma

Hello,

My name is Alec. I started studying for the LSAT in early November 2018 on a full time basis. My diagnostic score was a 150. After a month and a half of studying (CC completed and 4 PTs) I have raised my average to ~161. I am debating whether to sit for the January LSAT or wait a cycle and take it this march or this summer. I graduated with a 4.0 gpa with a degree in philosophy. Any advice or input would be appreciated. My gut tells me that it would be in my best interest to slow things down, get the best possible LSAT score when I'm ready, and apply early next fall. However, it's hard to know how much improvement can be expected in another 5-6 weeks.

Yours,

Alec

Comments

• MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage
    3256 karma

I would definitely wait. A few months is really hardly any time when it comes to studying for the lsat. In my opinion, if you don't give yourself a fair shot at getting to the upper 160s/170s, you're wasting the potential of your amazing gpa. You worked hard for four years to get that, so what's a few more months on the LSAT?

• bianca1010bianca1010 Member
    12 karma

Depends.

Have you been using any other form of study materials besides CC and PTs like PowerScore or LSAT Trainer? If so, definitely take the wait. I didn't mind the CC as an introduction to LSAT prep but I didn't start to feel like I was really getting it so it felt natural until I picked up other resources alongside PTs and CC.

If you feel like you're not confident in any of the sections (I'm assuming your strongest sections are logical reasoning given your philosophy degree, feel free to correct me), wait for a couple of months.

If you're panicked at the idea of taking the LSAT in 5-6 weeks, wait.