Accommodation/extra time, so unfair

SedationNeededSedationNeeded Free Trial Member
edited July 2019 in General 27 karma

I have seen a few posts here and on other forums about accommodation, didn't think much about them back then. But now as the July exam is within 2 weeks I have just found out what it really means: it means if you can prove yourself to be disabled/with learning disability/ADHD and whatnot, you get extra time in most cases. I learned about this from a friend who said, without awareness that I am studying for the lsat, that he would do fine because his parents got him a doctor's note so he could receive accommodations for the SAT, and guess what, for the LSAT as well.

It makes me really hurt and depressed, thinking about the many difficulties, intellectually and financially, that I had to overcame to prepare for this exam. I do not regret spending 1000+hours to master the logic and skills required for the LSAT, nor do I have anything against people with real disabilities, like if they are blind or deaf or have an IQ of 80. But for some others I have to admit that their actions seem seriously questionable.

Funny I thought this is a standardized exam. Does anyone think the same?

Is it fair to grant accommodation to people for ambiguous excuses such as learning disability?
  1. Is it fair to grant accommodation to people for ambiguous excuses such as learning disability?269 votes
    1. Yes, and such applicants do not have to report this to the law schools. (Current Policy)
      53.90%
    2. Yes, but those receiving that benefit should disclose it
      23.42%
    3. Heck no
      22.68%

Comments

• ExcludedMiddleExcludedMiddle Alum Member
    edited July 2019 737 karma

It doesn't really matter if it's wholly fair. LSAC would rather give some people accommodations that don't truly need them than face massive lawsuits. Don't expect anything to change. Control what you can control.

• hmbonbohmbonbo Free Trial Member
    edited July 2019 2 karma