Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Application advice

thegidkidthegidkid Core Member

So I know application numbers are going to be up a lot this year, so I am wondering what my chances are at a top 25/ top 14 with a 165 and 3.6 as a STEM Major from a top 20 university and I have a Masters Degree from the same institution. I have varied work experiences from cancer research for which I have been published and highlighted at conferences and also have legal experience working at the border doing emergency immigration work. Any advice on schools to apply or just in general?

Comments

• canihazJDcanihazJD Alum Member Sage
    8460 karma

Obviously a higher score would help for T14 but it also sounds like your background could help you outperform your numbers if you craft a good app. I'd apply anywhere you'd attend + peer schools.

• cjb297cjb297 Member
    43 karma

Why did you say you know application numbers are going to be up this year? If anything, I would think that the virus would cause applications to go down. Of course, this is just my speculation and not based upon any facts at all lol.

• VerdantZephyrVerdantZephyr Member
    2054 karma

@cjb297 Applications to all graduate and professional schools typically go up in times of economic downturn. Compounding that most people have more free time to consider their future, may not be working, and have more free time to prepare for the LSAT and law school. Compared to last year at this same time the number of applications is up between 50 and 60%