Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Shooting beyond T14

profile427profile427 Alum Member
edited May 2015 in General 213 karma
Hi All,

I seem to have a bit of a conundrum with regards to "prestige" and applying to law school. I feel an internal pressure to try to make into one of the T14, even though my confidence has been squashed to probably 1/10* (10 being borderline optimistic egomaniac).

I earned my bachelor's from Loyola U Chicago & master's from Northwestern. It sounds silly and perhaps pompous, but I almost feel as though if I don't make it into one of the T14, then I'm a pretty big failure and will be going "backwards" in my education/career. However, I do have some interest in Loyola Health Law (cert program is in the top 10 of the country), but ultimately I still have the little gremlin telling me that it's still not good enough.

Anyone feel me?

I have a friend of a friend who transferred from Yeshiva & finished his undergrad at Columbia, and then he went to Cordoza (Yeshiva) for law school. He feels similarly blah about not doing LS at one of the T14, even though he's working in Big IP Law in NYC and is doing *just fine.*

Thoughts, anyone? Really for me, since I've worked professionally for a good six years after grad school, I know that what I need is a "good fit." I've done the prestige thing in the working world, and at the end of the day, it doesn't really make a difference in my quality of life and current career prospects. I'm just worrying that switching from healthcare to law is a completely different ball game and I'll regret not trying to make it into at least one T14.