Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Feeling discouraged about holding off a year

jgillies99jgillies99 Member
in General 13 karma

Hi, everyone! I guess I'm just looking for some solidarity with this post. I graduated from undergrad in May 2020 and planned in March of this year to take the LSAT in August or October to apply for the Fall 2022 cycle. I know I can take it later and still apply, but with rolling admissions I'd rather get my application done by the start of the new year.

Well.. as I started studying, life got hectic - I moved, got a new full-time job, and my social life began to spring up again as COVID cases have decreased. I'm very aware that I'm running out of study time and studying for a few hours a week just won't cut it. My diagnostic score was decent, but not nearly close enough to the score I want.

I feel guilty for the time that I'm not studying which makes me want to hold off, but I also feel guilty wanting to postpone applying for a year. I think I'm coming to the decision to push it off a year, focus on settling down, and giving myself more time to soak in the material and really prepare for 2022 LSAT exams to apply for the Fall 2023 cycle.

Is my thinking flawed? Or does this seem like a reasonable decision? Can anyone else relate / has anyone else been successful after deciding to postpone applying?

Comments

• HoRangYiHoRangYi Member
    71 karma

life is what we make of it

• josephbraun99josephbraun99 Member
    66 karma

This isn't a race mate, delay it and make the year worthwhile, I'm sure you won't look back at it regretfully if you are judicious with your time and improve your life/get some great experiences/make yourself a stronger applicant over that year. Do some volunteer work too--a lot of people I've talked to haven't gotten around to that yet.

• 83 karma