Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Negation of "All" and "Some"

Student...Student... Member
in General 298 karma
I'm studying the curriculum and found the negation of "all" a little confusing.
I understand that the logical opposite of "some" is just "none."
But isn't "not all" the negation of "all"?
In other words, does "some... not..." mean the same thing as "not all"?

Thank you very much!

Comments

• Student...Student... Member
    edited December 2015 298 karma
    Here's the link to the lesson:
    http://7sage.com/lesson/advanced-negate-all-statements/?ss_completed_lesson=1055

Other people expressed the same confusion in the comments too.
    Thanks again.
  • Q.E.DQ.E.D Alum Member
    edited December 2015 556 karma
    Gotta follow the negation or else it doesn't make any sense.

'ALL ravens are black.' = 'NOT SOME (not any) ravens are NOT black.'
    'NOT ALL ravens are black.' = 'NOT NOT SOME (or just some) ravens are NOT black.'
    'SOME ravens are black.' = 'NOT ALL ravens are NOT black.'
    -in all cases, one quantifier is negated and one predicate is negated

One quantifier ('all' or 'some') is definable in terms of the other, negated with a negated predicate. I think it confuses people that you have to rope in the predicate ('black' above). If you're hazy on this, you might benefit from a quick study in the object-predicate structure of language, i.e. predicate logic. The notation is really handy. It makes it easy to see the principle at work above.

For example, ∃xPx iff ~∀x~Px. Here you see that '∃x' does the work of '~∀x~'.