Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mature Category

LostInLawLawLandLostInLawLawLand Alum Member
in General 34 karma
Awesome course so far! Just a couple of questions:
1. I am a mature student. If my marks from my early school career were less than stellar, should I consider applying in this (mature student) discretionary category?
2. How does taking the LSAT during the December sitting compared with the October sitting affect law school applications?

Thanks so much.

Comments

• c.janson35c.janson35 Free Trial Inactive Sage Inactive ⭐
    2398 karma
    For schools that have rolling admissions, the earlier you apply the better. So, in that sense, the October test is preferable to Decemeber. Some schools have scholarship/aid deadlines as well so that is something to look into for the schools you are interested in. At the end of the day, though, a higher score is preferable to an earlier application, so I would choose the exam that you will be best prepared for.
  • PacificoPacifico Alum Inactive ⭐
    8021 karma
    @"sunnie_dazie" said:
    1. I am a mature student. If my marks from my early school career were less than stellar, should I consider applying in this (mature student) discretionary category?
    What is this that you're talking about? I'm among the older frequent posters on here and I have never heard of anything like this. I've got a sub 3.0 uGPA from almost 10 years ago, which I hope to overcome with a stellar LSAT score and a slew of good to excellent softs. Is this something that is just at a particular school because I have not seen anything like this on the admissions web sites of any schools to which I'm applying.