Yeah, son!

danilphillipsdanilphillips Alum Member
edited May 2016 in General 200 karma
Like many here, I just thought I'd share my progress and experience with 7sage and studying for the LSAT. I'm 35 years old (married, 2 kids). Yes, kids, I'm an old B. I have a Master's in a different subject and had a career as a librarian for 8 years. For many, many reasons, I left that career and after years of not knowing which path to take, I stumbled upon 'The New Jim Crow' by Michelle Alexander and my life was changed. I knew without a doubt that I needed to pursue a career as a public defender. The thought of law school was always in the back of my mind even before reading Alexander's book, but a few years back, I bought an LSAT prep test book, looked at the games, and gave up. I honestly thought I was too stupid to take the LSAT, much less get into law school. I went to a shit state college and I never particularly applied myself or excelled at standardized tests. I literally did not even study for the SAT! While my GPA is decent and I can read and write well, I had no background in logic, and definitely suck ass at all tests.

I just took my first real prep test after the curriculum and got a 155 and 161 on BR. I am ECSTATIC! My dream school is UNM for reasons related to costs and its reputation for training public defenders (call me Saul), so I'm just aiming for a 160. I never thought in a million years I could do this test. Seriously, never. At my old age, I didn't even know if I could properly study.

I guess I'm just sharing to tell the 7Sagers, particularly J.Y., that OG, THANK YOU for changing my life and for making me see that I am capable of this. For all you grinding like me, if I can do this with a job, two kids (some nights I studied in my 2 year old's room when he was sick), and a brain jacked up from too many years of partying, You CAN TOO!!!! I am on cloud 9 and feel even more motivated to do this. Thanks everyone!!!!!!

Comments