30 mins per section

Ballon d'OrBallon d'Or Alum Member
in General 61 karma
Hey guys,

I'm about to start taking sections with only 30 minutes instead of 35 to give myself more time pressure because
I found that 35 minutes feels a lot shorter during the test day. Has anyone tried doing this? If yes, what benefits
have you gained?

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited August 2016 23929 karma
    @"Ballon d'Or"

Hey,

I personally have not started PT'ing yet so I have no experience with this. I will say that many top scorers used this strategy to mitigate any test day timing issues. Additionally, I think it is common for top scorers to implement this so they have time to go back and check answers and do ones they skipped without having to worry too much about rushing.

I personally know of some people who eventually got so good they were finishing in 25-27 minutes for LG and having time to go back over every question. That may be a little extreme, but it certainly helped them chase the -0 we all love so much. Also, I should not that they didn't start off there, but started shaving time off and worked up to finishing this efficiently.

• SprinklesSprinkles Alum Member
    11542 karma
    That's a good strategy but don't become too obsessed with it! The 7sage proctor app allows you to choose a limit of up to 28 mins per section so give that app a go if you haven't already :)
  • AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma
    @montaha.rizeq said:
    The 7sage proctor app allows you to choose a limit of up to 28 mins per section so give that app a go if you haven't already :)
    I didn't know that! I'm learning something from this too. Yay! :D
    11542 karma
    Haha yup...it seems intimidating but I find it works well especially for logic games.
  • AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma
    Thank you @montaha.rizeq Nice! I just checked it out and never realized you could adjust it like everything else. Very nice feature.