Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Professional LOR Required... SOS

alex.e92alex.e92 Alum Member
I started filling out applications this week and noticed that Columbia requires a professional LOR for anyone who graduated before 2015 (I graduated in May of 2014). The LORs I secured at the beginning of the year are both from old professors. I immediately reached out to my previous supervisor of 2 years (not my current employer -- for obvious reasons) and asked for a last minute LOR. He happily agreed to write one and I know that he will write a positive recommendation; however, I have never seen him write in any capacity (he's a brilliant data guy -- not necessarily a wordsmith). I will be waiving my right to read the letter, so I'm a bit nervous. Does anyone have any advice as to what I should pass along to him in order to help him write the best LOR he can, we're both clueless about what admissions is looking for in a professional recommendation from a field that isn't particularly relevant to the law. Are there certain characteristics in data analysis/cost forecasting that he can expound upon that would be seen as a bonus to my application? Anyone been in a similar situation? Thanks.

Comments

• Cant Get RightCant Get Right Yearly + Live Member Sage 🍌 7Sage Tutor
    edited September 2016 27860 karma