PT34.S3.Q06 - standard archaeological techniques

Giant PandaGiant Panda Alum Member
edited October 2016 in Logical Reasoning 274 karma
Hi guys,

Question is here: https://7sage.com/lesson/prehistoric-paintings-weaken-question/

So just to dive deeper and solidify foundation, I tried to translate this question into a logic framework and I wrote it below. Please see if it is done correctly

~Carbon-->Age (if there is no carbon, then we can determine its age)
~Limestone with paint-->~sample (If we there is no limestone with paint, then there is no sample)
~Sample-->~Age (if there is no sample, then we cannot determine its age)

And combine everything together we have: ~Limestone--->~Sample--->~Age-->Carbon

Did I translate it correctly? It feels weird.

Thanks,

Panda

Comments

• Giant PandaGiant Panda Alum Member
    274 karma
    Sorry, beginner here. Some instruction or corrections will be more than helpful. Much thanks~
  • PositivePositive Alum Member
    edited October 2016 426 karma
    It's more like,

P1: Standard techniques determine the age --> the object is without carbon.
    P2. Collect samples from prehistoric paintings --> there must be carbon.
    C: The techniques we talked about cannot determine the age of prehistoric paintings.

In a simpler form,
    P1: STDA --> /C
    P2: Sample --> C
    C: /STDA

Sometimes, especially for the second premise here, it is better (I should say faster) to believe in your understanding of the sentence instead of strictly using if/then indicators.
  • BinghamtonDaveBinghamtonDave Alum Member 🍌🍌
    8689 karma