Query failed: connection to 172.31.3.4:9312 failed (errno=111, msg=Connection refused). Does a masters from the UK factor into LSAC GPA? - 7Sage Forum

Does a masters from the UK factor into LSAC GPA?

nyc2dc2canyc2dc2ca Alum Member
in General 107 karma
I have a UK masters graded on a scale very different from the US GPA system. How will it be evaluated by LSAC?

Thanks!

Comments

• SprinklesSprinkles Alum Member
    11542 karma
    According to LSAC:
    "Law schools receive a copy of graduate school transcripts with the law school report, but do not calculate an overall grade-point average combining undergraduate and graduate school performance. The graduate school experience is one of the many factors that schools consider when reviewing applications that contribute to the breadth and depth of a candidate’s overall qualifications for the study of law."

• nyc2dc2canyc2dc2ca Alum Member
    107 karma
    Thanks for your help @montaha.rizeq !
  • SprinklesSprinkles Alum Member
    11542 karma
    Of course!
  • todduncan2todduncan2 Member
    60 karma
    Hi nyc2...

I'm in the same boat but with a Ph.D (and an undergraduate degree) from the UK. I've spoken to several admissions counselors about how such a degree is incorporated into the evaluation of a candidate by an admissions committee. The responses I've heard range from "we don't really care about an advanced degree, what is your LSAT score?" to "we look on it very favorably as you've demonstrated success in a previous graduate program". If you've taken courses for the Masters (e.g. it wasn't by research), and some kind of grade is on the final transcript, then WES, the group that do the equivalency evaluation for LSAC (or who did several years ago), will report some kind of equivalency but it is only a recommendation to the school. There is no "grade" for a Ph.D - just pass/fail, however, so it's just "reported" as montaha.rizeq notes.