Help? Test Date + Studying Advice?

LauraC829LauraC829 Alum Member
edited August 2017 in General 218 karma

Hi everyone! I'm registered for the Sept. 2017 exam but have weird background and need advice on whether you recommend I study this month & take it or wait until Dec., and also would like to know how detrimental it would be to apply when Dec. scores come out?

Background:
I'm a paralegal at a big law firm and my hours are really insane. I took the Testmasters course Nov - Jan but missed some classes/didn't take advantage of it so waited & took the exam for the first time June 2017. I got really busy at work right before it and would say I only seriously studied for 2 months (with TM books). I thought it was ok but I didn't feel great so I cancelled my score (had been PT'ing at 158-162). Planned to take it this Sept. but been busy with work all summer and now I'm not sure... is 4 weeks of intense studying enough or should I wait till Dec.? Is the 7SAGE membership for just these weeks worth it? Or should I just do practice tests? I also have the LSAT trainer book.

Thank you so much!

Comments

• jennybbbbbjennybbbbb Alum Member
    edited August 2017 630 karma

I think everyone would agree that you should wait it out until your scoring around your goal score on PTs!

Goodluck!

• nathanieljschwartznathanieljschwartz Alum Member
    1723 karma

Yeah its hard to say without knowing were you are holding in prep and how far that is from your goal. @jennybbbbb is right about not taking till your PTing around your goal, if not higher

• sandy180sandy180 Alum Member
    159 karma

Wait until December. Bump your PT's to 170+. 2 hours a day, 5 days a week and you can achieve that. 7 sage or not, put the time in and you'll be rewarded. As far as the detriment of sitting in December, it's not as ideal as September but there is no substitute for a higher LSAT score. Definitely do not wait until February, though:)

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    23929 karma

@jennybbbbb said: