Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How does it work? I am confused.

JerryClarke242JerryClarke242 Alum Member
edited September 2017 in Law School Admissions 602 karma

Hello Everyone,
So I am studying for the December LSAT in addition to trying to get the components of my law school application together. How exactly does the electronic application process work? Because I thought law schools do not get your application until said application is complete, but apparently you can send parts of your law school application in early and have the law schools wait on the score. Which is it?

Comments

• nevadacity37nevadacity37 Free Trial Member
    163 karma

To probably your frustration, "both" is the most accurate answer. Until a law school has all the components of your application, it isn't going to be processed and reviewed. When an application is "complete", that means you need to have completed: 1) the online application (a few allow an application directly to that specific law school, but this is rare, nor is it preferred); 2) a completed CAS report (meaning all your transcripts are turned in and accounted for by LSAC); 3) you have the at least the minimum requisite letters of recommendation for a given school; and lastly, a reported LSAT score through LSAC. I assume this is your first time taking the LSAT. If it isn't, and you have a score on file with LSAC, that is a different situation that requires definite caution about when you turn in everything to a law school (they will process your application and review it with a score that you probably don't want them to evaluate your application with!)