Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

My really bad looking AA degree dilemma

doyeradoyera Alum Member

So I did a program called running start in high school and took some college level classes, starting in Fall of 2004. I started with just one class that quarter. I graduated HS in spring 06 with 55 college credits completed. I proceeded to take a few more classes including some lower level math classes I needed, but then took some time off Winter 07 to get my pilot's license. I returned to school in Fall 08 working full time and going to school part time and finally graduated in Spring 09. So what this means is I have to list my Comm College years of attendance as 04 - 09. On paper it looks like it took me 5 years to get a 2 year degree! In a way, it did, but it wasn't as if I graduated high school and went to school immediately after. It was a long winding path including a break to get my pilot's license which was a career I thought I might want to get in to at the time. I didn't have the slightest inkling back then of wanting to go to graduate school...now I'm realizing it is making my resume look really bad.

So I guess my question is, does anyone have any thoughts on how I can make it look less terrible on my resume? They're going to get a transcript so leaving it off completely seems like I'm trying to be deceptive. Will the adcom think this is super unusual? Any guidance is appreciated.

Comments

• LSATcantwinLSATcantwin Alum Member Sage
    13286 karma

By writing and addendum explaining the situation like you just did here! But you’re a non-traditional student (like me) and we have gaps. I have a 4 year military gap in my 2 year degee. So I’m going to write an addendum to explain the break!! It won’t hurt you, non-traditional students applications always look a bit different, because well, we are non-traditional! Haha

• studyingandrestudyingstudyingandrestudying Core Member