Kaplan/Barron's/test prep books without real LSAT questions for starting

firefoxsparkfirefoxspark Free Trial Member
in General 7 karma

I've heard form multiple sources that reccommend that I only buy books that use real LSAT questions (unlike Kaplan, Barro's, etc)

I have over a year to study for the LSAT, and am fairly new to the thought process of the LSAT. I'm also a broke college student, so I'd prefer not to buy test prep books right away.

My plan is to get myself familiar with information/examples from free resources (online, library, etc) and then eventually buy the books with real LSAT questions. I've been cycling around libraries in my area and most of them seem to have recent copies of test prep books without real LSAT questions, so I figured I'd start there. (Also, some of the libraries have books with real LSAT questions... my wallet thanks me)

Would you suggest using test prep books with made up LSAT questions/no real LSAT questions to start as an introduction to the types of questions/sections? Or is it a big no-no?

Additionally, I was looking at targeted books for improving certain sections. Not so much LSAT use, but in general-- for example, my library has a lot of books that seem to be more education based, like "Reading Comprehension for College Students." I figured I'd also look at those for potential strategies to combat the Reading Comprehension section.

Comments

• 1000001910000019 Alum Member
    edited December 2017 3279 karma

@firefoxspark said:
    I've heard form multiple sources that reccommend that I only buy books that use real LSAT questions (unlike Kaplan, Barro's, etc)

I have over a year to study for the LSAT, and am fairly new to the thought process of the LSAT. I'm also a broke college student, so I'd prefer not to buy test prep books right away.