Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

how long does CAS usually take?

imlikeabirdimlikeabird Free Trial Member

Hi everyone! I've been lurking for a while but this is my first time posting. I realized tonight as I was about to submit an application that I hadn't actually paid for CAS (which explained why I wasn't getting promotional emails unlike all of my friends). I panicked and just paid for it, but based on my understanding my application won't be read until CAS does its magic. Is that true? If it is, there's no reason for me to submit now, since I might as well work on my personal statement in the meantime. Does anyone have a sense for how long it takes during this time of the year, since I imagine they must be incredibly backed up?

Thanks!

Comments

• akistotleakistotle Member 🍌🍌
    9377 karma

@imlikeabird said:
    Hi everyone! I've been lurking for a while but this is my first time posting. I realized tonight as I was about to submit an application that I hadn't actually paid for CAS (which explained why I wasn't getting promotional emails unlike all of my friends). I panicked and just paid for it, but based on my understanding my application won't be read until CAS does its magic. Is that true? If it is, there's no reason for me to submit now, since I might as well work on my personal statement in the meantime. Does anyone have a sense for how long it takes during this time of the year, since I imagine they must be incredibly backed up?

Thanks!

This is from LSAC's website:
    It takes approximately two weeks to process a transcript from the time it is received.
    https://www.lsac.org/jd/help/faqs-cas ("Should I register for the LSAT and the Credential Assembly Service (CAS) at the same time?")

But LSAC will be closed from Dec 25 - Jan 1, so it may take three weeks.

• eesLSAT2017eesLSAT2017 Alum Member
    59 karma