Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Trying to get to 160

tcookPHLtcookPHL Alum Member
in General 300 karma

Hi everyone! I was wondering if anyone's had a similar experience to mine and has scored well on their LSATS. I started at a 148 without reviewing the material ever and I'm trying to get to a 160. I'm currently studying about 3 hours per day (I work full-time) and about 5-6 on Saturdays and 5-6 on Sundays. I'm hoping this can get me where I need to be! I'm taking the LSAT in June and need a little bit of encouragement. Any advice is much appreciated.

Comments

• K 440244K 440244 Alum Member
    edited January 2017 104 karma

I started in the low 140s and now my average score is ~160. I'm hoping to write the test in June as well. I started with a different test prep company (which was a mistake) and now I am starting 7sages core curriculum. I would say only take a few practice tests in the beginning (at least through the core curriculum). I went through so many tests not knowing a bunch of fundamentals, which caused me to do poorly, and I didn't properly review them. I spent a lot of time drilling question types, and typing out my thought process on each question and answer choice. Also, practice test retakes have been one of the best resources I have used lately. My target score on these is a 180, and if I don't have a perfect score, I don't fully understand why each question was right or wrong. Don't take the exam if you aren't ready, you can always take it in September. Remember the test is predictable!

Also meditation and yoga everyday and some sort of exercise routine. It's crazy, but when I miss a day, it is reflected in my score. Plus, practicing these will help you stay calm and collected on test day!