Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LSAT Trainer vs. 7Sage

kH573201kH573201 Alum Member

Hey guys!

Hope everyone had an amazing holiday weekend!

I've decided to go back over some of the very beginning core stuff to make sure I have a solid understanding before moving on in the curriculum. I have the LSAT Trainer and I'm trying to use that as supplemental material to explain the concepts I'm having trouble with. This is going to seem really silly...maybe it's because I'm just starting out, but this threw me for a loop:

"When we are asked to evaluate the reasoning in an argument, it is always in terms of a very specific task: our job is always to evaluate and understand why the reasons given DO NOT justify the point that is made. For every one of these questions, your understanding of why the support doesn't justify the conclusion will be your primary gauge for evaluating right and wrong answers (p.35)."

So every argument is wrong? For some reason I remember hearing JY say don't worry about whether the argument is RIGHT OR WRONG..... What is the logical reasoning section asking me to DO?

If anyone could help clarify this, I'd greatly appreciate it!

Thanks guys!

Comments

• Heart Shaped BoxHeart Shaped Box Alum Member
    edited May 2017 2426 karma

Not necessarily every argument is wrong but what the question stem is asking of you. For assumption ones such as S, W, SA, NA or flaw etc, then yes, there is definitely something wrong with the argument, and our job is to expose the assumptions/flaws made therein, hence having a critical mind would be beneficial like advocated by Mike Kim in those specific chapters.