Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

GPA/Transcript Addendum

austen.auausten.au Alum Member
edited September 2017 in Law School Admissions 18 karma

Hello,

I am in need of advice of whether I should write a GPA addendum for specific schools. My overall GPA when I graduated college was a 3.68. However, during my first year, I was unsure about my career path, and I faced surmounting pressure from my parents to follow in their footsteps (both of whom are dentists). Therefore, I majored in biology even though I had no clear passion towards it. During my first year, I struggled greatly in my classes and I was afraid to ask for help because I was embarrassed. No matter how much I studied, I could not grasp the concepts. Also, I didn't utilize the resources on campus (i.e. free tutoring, office hours, etc) and it came at the expense of my grades. By the end of my first year, I had a cumulative GPA of 2.78.

However, during the following summer, I realized I could no longer pursue a career I was not interested in. I withdrew from my physics course (leaving a W on my transcript) and changed my major to English because I had a genuine interest in law. After changing my major, I became more comfortable asking questions and I wasn't afraid to ask for help when I needed it. I began to visit my professors' office hours and the Academic Resource Center. Over my remaining years, I averaged a 3.97 GPA. However, my overall GPA is a 3.68 due to my first year of majoring in biology.

I read online that we should not write an addendum if we don't really need one. The article said, "Law school admissions officers can spot a 'failed premed' from a mile away—they don’t necessarily need or want you to explain it in an addendum." However, I feel like my case is not necessarily the same. I learned from my experiences and I have worked tremendously hard over the years.