Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Non-Academic Letters of Recommendation

Hi Everyone,

I've been out of school for about 5 years now. I graduated with a BS + MS in Accounting and have completed the CPA examination. After college I worked for a large public accounting firm in a pretty selective practice group doing financial advisory for some of the largest investment banks in the world. I developed a great relationship with one of the Partners in that group and he will be one of my letter of recommendation writers.

I do know, however, that there is a preference many schools have for academic letters of recommendation. I've received two of those as well, one from a finance professor I TA'd for and another from my University's business school dean.

Originally my plan was to use all 3 letter of recommendation. However, I've noticed that some schools actually restrict you to just using two letters. So my question is, which two should I use? Is the preference for academic letters so great that it would be detrimental to use the letter from my professional recommender? I felt that given the experience I had the professional letter would help set me apart a bit. But now that for some applications I may have to choose just two letters I'm not sure if I should use the two academic or use the professional one with one academic?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• LSAT_WreckerLSAT_Wrecker Member
    4850 karma

I would ask the admissions staff at each school their opinion.

My n=1, I'm over 20 years removed from my UG studies and over 7 years away from my master's studies, so I'm using one academic and one professional reference (who I've had a relationship with for over 10 years). I see value in including a view from my professional life. A contributing factor in my own calculus is that my second academic LOR writer has kept me waiting for over 4 months (and counting).