Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Non-Traditional Student Letter of recommendation from who??

OK, I graduated from college almost 20 years ago. I have not worked in 3 years, I have been a stay at home mom. So, who can I ask to write my letter of recommendation? I'm not particularly involved with any group or church. I feel pretty sidelined for not being as outgoing or active in my community. I don't know about suddenly joining groups just to make some contacts to get that oh so needed letter. From what I hear, it's still pretty necessary to have at least 2 letters. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited October 2017 23929 karma

You are correct that admissions usually requires 2 LORs that are academic or from employers. My first approach would be to track down old employers. I've read that some non-traditional students have had luck going this route. It might not be ideal, but I'd assume it's easier to track down your boss from 3 years ago than a professor from 20?

I wish you all the luck!

• DatguyM15DatguyM15 Alum Member
    211 karma

I'm a non traditional applicant too. I would try for employers, if not look for someone that is very reputable in your community or reach out to a leader in a group that you maybe volunteered with etc. I think raising kids and overall life experience are probably enough of an LOR that they won't care about your "real LOR's". Remember that it's other adults that are going to be judging you and they will understand that your experience is quite different than a 22 year old undergrad. However, if you are looking at top tier schools I would try my best to meet the requirements.

• LCMama2017LCMama2017 Alum Member
    2134 karma