Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Admission Stress #help #emotions

sandycreamsandycream Alum Member
edited September 2018 in Law School Admissions 14 karma

First of all, I am an LSAT 154 and GPA 2.64.

I definitely am not aiming for 1st tier law schools, I was wishing if I have a chance for 2nd tier.
With my terrible GPA, I start to worry even if any of the 2nd/3rd tier school would take me.

A little bit about myself, I am now 29, I moved out and became financially independent when I was 19, started my first law firm job when I was 20.
I have been working as a paralegal for 9 years, and my current position is in a fairly big firm, with my years of paralegal experience, my salary is now at 80k plus bonus and overtime.

However, when I worked and being financial stable for past years, I can only finish my Bachelor Degree with much longer time - 7 years. I was reckless to not care about my grades, I just wanted to finish the degree. I thought I will be fine being a paralegal for rest of my life.

But after 9 years of working, I now want to become a lawyer.
I am worried if I go to low ranked schools, I will get into attorney positions that offer lower salary than my current pay.
Some people advise me not to be a lawyer, because it may not be financially wise. I will have to stop working for 3 years plus law school loans, not to mention I still have a mortgage to pay.
But deep down I know I really want to be a lawyer.

What should I do? What do you guys think?
If I get rejected from my desired schools, should I go back to college and take more classes to bring up my GPA?
Another LSAT? Just go to low ranked school, my experience will help?
Or do you guys think I should just stay being a paralegal....:(

What should I do?
  1. What should I do?44 votes
    1. Take more classes in college to bring up GPA
        2.27%
    2. Retake LSAT
      86.36%
    3. Go to low ranked school, you will be fine.