Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

January LSAT too late?

Hi,

I am registered for the Oct 14th LSAT.
My plan is to apply with the Oct 14th score. (My current score range is mid to high 160s).
However, if I don't hit my target score(170+) I want to apply with the Oct 14th score and retake in January.
The exam date in January is Jan 27th. Expecting results in mid February(Feb 15) according to the LSAC website.

I want to know if 1.) I can ask schools to consider the Jan score if it is higher than my Oct score. 2.) ask them to hold off until they get Feb score? 3.) Will it be too late for any scholarship/merit-aid opportunities.

I'd preferably not want to sit a whole cycle out due to this.
These are the only test dates available to me.

My law school goal is to get into something within the t14 or t20 possibly with some scholarship.
I am an international student, so I don't think GPA is a hard constraint here.

Comments

• CantStopWontStopCantStopWontStop Alum Member
    1270 karma

There is no hard line, but generally I would say that is probably too late. You would be having to fight an uphill battle, but if you crush it, then technically it is possible. But again, you are putting yourself at a significant disadvantage

• cqas190517cqas190517 Alum Member 🍌
    535 karma

I’ve seen 170 LSATS get rejected when they apply too late (last month of the application window). Best bet is to create a strong holistic application as early as possible.

• Leah M BLeah M B Alum Member
    8392 karma