Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Confused about explanations used in conditional logic videos

markkuehlingmarkkuehling Alum Member
edited November 2014 in General 5 karma
Hey guys. Newbie here that just signed up on this site a few days ago. I'm confused as to why, when, and how JY is applying the following analogy. Can someone help me understand this?

All beings that are Jedi’s are entities that use the force.
Jedi = Force User

This seems different from:
If Jedi, then Force User.

IF a being IS a Jedi, then the being must be a force user. Isn’t later is a conditional??? And thus not a logical equivalent? Do you see what I’m asking?

If it is the case that:
Jedi = Force User
then it is necessarily the case that:
Force User = Jedi.

But this renders the premise completely not true. Force User also = Sith and Sith (do not equal) Jedi.

I don’t care to pick a debate over about Jedi vs Sith, or Disney vs Lucasfilm. What I’m trying to understand is how equals can be construed as the logical equivalent of a conditional on the LSAT?

Isn't "=" traditionally used as follows?:
Anakin = Darth Vader
Darth Vader = Anakin

Thus "=" functions differently in the form than "->". It is entirely different than saying:

IF Anakin THEN Vader.

Thanks again to anyone who can simplify and clarify! Much appreciated.

Comments

• lsatcommittedlsatcommitted Alum Member
    166 karma
    Hi Mark
    Your message is a little confusing. But i will try to help, at least for my own understanding.

Instead of using "=", we should use "->" for "implies"
    Example:
    All Jedis are force users becomes J->F
    the Contrapositive to that is if one does not use the force, one is not a Jedi /F->/J
    The Contrapositive is the same logically as the statement above it, it is not the opposite.