Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Foolproof Method

Hey guys I know it is a little too late to improve now since the test is in two days ( There is always January), I am having a very hard time timing myself doing logic games. I have gone through the curriculm and done the foundational games 7-10 times. However, I still trip up when I see a game that has a sentence that throws me off and looks like a game i have never done before.

Are there situations where the foolproof method is not applicable because they came up with a new game and you will just have to "figure it out" ?

Comments

• fycw2068fycw2068 Alum Member
    edited November 2018 404 karma

I think it's incredibly rare, but I think it happens. I don't know if these were totally new games, but PT 72 game 4 (Sept 2014) and PT 67 game 4 (Oct 2012) were 2 out of the 30 or so PTs that I've taken that were pretty WTF for me, and I didn't come across games that were similar to it in other PTs.

With that said, I'm not sure if you have a "what to do when I get stuck" plan, but here's mine in case it's helpful:

1. I literally mouth to myself "don't freak out". For me, that's been incredibly helpful in keeping my emotions and thoughts in check for anything confusing that I come across (and not just for LG!).

2. I allow myself to ignore time constraints and re-read the game slowly and carefully, even if I'm running behind. In doing this, I have often realized I missed a key word or was able to make sense of convoluted language. (I also do this with tricky RC paragraphs).

3. If after re-reading I still have no clue, I look at the questions and answer options and look for clues there. In the case of PT 72, I wasn't sure if variables could be used only once OR if they could be used more than once/not at all, so I looked at the questions and felt fairly confident that variables could be used multiple times or not at all.