Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Things I've learned/Parallels between Heavy Lifting & LSAT?

poohbearpoohbear Alum Member
edited December 2014 in General 496 karma
I've been studying for the LSAT for a while now, currently just started my PT phase and I'm still not near my target score (aiming for Feb test right now). I've also been getting into heavy lifting within the last three months and I recently made the connection of how lifting is very much like studying for the LSAT.

I don't know how many of you are familiar with lifting, and I can't really call myself an expert-- like I said, I've only just started but maybe it's because I'm a newb that it's really easy for me to draw these parallels between the two. First, lifting heavy really requires you to have proper form just like having a good core foundation of lessons for the LSAT. You must have good form before you move onto heavier weights-- by jumping ahead and trying to lift a ton without the training of proper form, you're putting yourself at risk for injury. In a similar way, I've realized that I can't just burn through my PTs when I notice that my foundation isn't solid. I can easily tell through my BRs and my attitude during the test-- sometimes during a PT, I'll see a question and freak/stress out because I know I should be more familiar with it and yet I know I'm not. When moments like these happen, I know it's time to revisit those core lessons again just like when I realize my form is off with lifting, it's time to lower those weights and reassess what I'm doing wrong with my form to see how I can fix it.