Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to Speed Up on RC Once Accuracy is Good

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on the 7sage forum, although I've been here for a while.

By far my weakest section of the test is RC. I have a tendency to be super inconsistent; I can range from a –4 to a –14 on any given RC section without really knowing why. So recently, I decided to go back to the 7sage memory method (or at least a version of it that I believe suits me). That meant doing full RC sections untimed at first, but really focusing on accuracy. As a result, my accuracy drastically improved (new average –1 or –2 per section), and my time has been slowly coming down (from 50 mins to 45 mins, to now an average of 40 mins).

But now, with only 5 weeks remaining until the March test, I am struggling to get the time down to under 35 without compromising on accuracy - I tend to get through 3 passages timed with only 4 or 5 mins remaining for the fourth. Does anyone have any advice on how I can overcome this problem? Should I keep practicing the untimed sections and hope for gradual gains in speed, or is there a technique that y'all use to speed up?

Thank you to anyone who responds!

Comments

• MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage
    3256 karma

What is your goal RC score for test day? I mean of course a -4 or better would be ideal, but what score on RC do you need for your overall goal score? Can you afford to go, say, -8? If so, then I would really focus on accuracy for the first three passages and not even think about the last one unless you get to it. You also don't have to do the first three passages just because they're the first three- you can glance at all of them and don't do the most confusing one.

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited February 2019 23929 karma

I think RC can be really idiosyncratic in what works for people.