Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

To take September and settle or push off till March and go next year?

cooljon525-1-1cooljon525-1-1 Alum Member
in General 917 karma

Hey guys so i'm going to be a senior in college with a 3.85 gpa and I am seeking advice. I've been studying LSAT for around 8 months and its starting to really take a toll. I've made significant improvements from where I started and on my last 5 tests (61-65), I averaged around 170 but my RC score is so volatile and the worst section by far. In the last few months i've only been concentrating on RC and I feel like I am improving but at a very slow pace. My LG is -1 usually and LR is -3 to -6 total

I know if I go into the September exam, I probably won't be able to replicate anywhere near that score because of my RC problems. However I am confident that I can get a 163 or above which would be enough for me to secure UC Irvine and not lose a year. The other alternative would be to postpone the cycle, study more, and take the LSAT next year and shoot for UCLA/USC.

I'm also not looking to work in a big law firm nor any government job. Correct me if I am mistaken, but I've read that everyone wants T-14 because it guarantees them a big law job. So since I know I will not be working there, would it make sense to sink another year on lsat to go from UCI (rank 23) to USC/UCLA (rank 17,15)?

I've talked to some lawyers and they've told me that the school you go to is only important for your first or 2nd job after law school but then after that it all comes down to your work experience(if anyone knows otherwise, please let me know). I also do realize I would be limiting my scholarship opportunities by taking the test and applying this year.

Comments

• studyingandrestudyingstudyingandrestudying Core Member
    5254 karma