Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

My LSAT Journey – Trust the Process

firefistcaesfirefistcaes Alum Member
in General 77 karma

As the 2020 admissions cycles comes to an end, I wanted to hopefully provide some inspiration to those preparing to take the LSAT and begin their admissions cycle. I started studying for the LSAT in September 2018 and sat for my first take a year later in September 2019. Like many others, I didn’t score as well as I thought I could’ve or enough to be competitive, so I sat for the next test in October. Thankfully, I scored enough to be competitive and get some scholarship money, although I’ll still need to take loans.

Like you all know, preparing for this exam will eat up your time and demands that you give it serious attention if you want to do well and get into top schools….likely in the process, it’ll mentally fuck you up, but depending on how bad you want, KEEP AT IT! I remember when I initially started studying, I listened to a discussion from one of the Sages about how she scored a 174 or something like that, and the mentality she developed…she said she prepared for the test like a top athlete does, and that really struck a tone with me, considering some of role models are Cristiano Ronaldo, Novak Djokovic, and Lewis Hamilton. What is one of the strong assets of a top athlete? Their incredible mindset and mentality. I cultivated that trait and decided to keep plugging away.

Of all sections of the test, LG was my biggest weakness, but eventually I got to the point where I was consistently scoring 17,18/25, although my strategy is one I wouldn’t necessarily recommend…I focused on 3 games, making sure I’d get almost all of the questions from those 3 games right, that gave me ~15 points right there, and guessed on the remaining, thereby getting on average ~2 more questions correct.