Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Pre-Law Summer Program worth it?

Hi all. I am 31, graduated over 10 years ago from an undergrad in architecture. Since then I have worked in the real estate sector and have lived abroad teaching English (also got TEFL certified). I want to go into Real Estate law. I have no background in law whatsoever.

I plan on taking the LSAT in August to apply for fall 2021. My GPA is a 3.2. Should I focus my studies on the LSAT or should I take an online 5-week summer pre-law program (only 3 hours a day), to spruce up my resume. I feel like I am competing with people who are paralegals or have pre-law backgrounds and so wanted something to make me more appealing to an application board.

I am a single mom and finding time to study quietly is hard enough as it is. So worth doing this online pre-law course? Would never have been able to do it in-person so thought of taking advantage of it being offered online.

Pros, cons? Thanks a lot guys and good luck with your LSAT studies.

Comments

• btownsqueebtownsquee Alum Member
    1207 karma

Hello! You have truly an amazing background and it does not matter one iota that you have no experience in the law. It looks like you have customer service and business experience - I think these are even more important skills to have developed compared to being a paralegal. I say this having been a paralegal and as someone who's headed to a top 10 law school. In fact, I believe it so much that I'm doing a business development internship this summer to develop those skills myself. I believe my opinion is consistent with admissions officers - you can confirm this by doing research online/emailing them. :)

I recommend you put your limited time towards studying for the LSAT and getting as high a score as possible. This will help you get into the best possible school/get the highest amount of scholarship that you can.