Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Help with Personal Statement

Hi, I am really having a hard time coming up with a topic for my personal statement. I've sat down to write it probably a dozen times, and...nothing. I've tried thinking of anecdotal stories from my childhood. I've tried going the "why do I want to be a lawyer" route. I've tried thinking about the the "hardest thing I've overcome". I've tried addressing why I want to practice immigration. I'll get one paragraph out then scratch it. I'm feeling really discouraged about it. I studied 6+ months for the LSAT and brought my score up from a 149 to a 165. In some ways the LSAT seems less daunting than this personal statement. Any suggestions? Anything helps. Thanks in advance.

Here are bullet points of my life/educational background:

• Homeschooled

• Community college: Earned AA (living at home)

• State College for last two years (Poli-Sci degree) (Culture shock first semester as I caught up on two decades of social development)

• Dept of State Internship at US Embassy in Mexico City

• Immigration Paralegal work (3yrs)

• Founded my own immigration paralegal services business this year

• Notes: Learned Spanish as an adult (I don't come from a Hispanic background). Now use it everyday for work. Have traveled/lived extensively in Latin America.

• LSAT: Mid 160s / GPA 3.1 (Strong GPA addendum for one semester with low grades)

Comments

• Law and YodaLaw and Yoda Alum Member
    4312 karma

Have you checked out the resources that 7sage offers? https://7sage.com/law-school-ps-examples/ & https://7sage.com/admissions/lesson/picking-your-topic/

A few things to ask yourself to find a topic you really care about are;
    What drives you as a person?
    What’s a time—a year, a month, even a day—that helped define who you are today?
    What do you care about most? When did you first begin to care about it?