Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to Study RC? My Wrongs Are So Random!

WouldRatherBeEatingWouldRatherBeEating Alum Member
edited December 2020 in Reading Comprehension 456 karma

Hi all. Nearly all of my last bit of prep has been focusing on getting my RC better/more reliable. Sometimes, I can get -0 on a timed section I've never done before, and then turn around and get -4 on a timed section that is a redo and I took it only 2 months ago. I'll even swing as far as a -7 or -8 on new, timed sections. There seems to be very little rhyme or reason. Not only that, but a lot of the time, I won't even get the same answers wrong as I did the first time. For example, I retook an RC section today and got -4 compared to -5 when I initially took it. And, the ones I got wrong this time were ALL ones that I got correct the first time. It makes me not even want to study for RC because I feel like nothing I do matters-- I may do good or I may do bad, but it truly does all feel like it's up to chance. Like obviously I should have been able to get those four questions correct, as I've done so before. Anyone else struggle with the same thing and found a way to get their variability in RC down? Thanks.

Comments

• hopefullinghopefulling Member
    edited December 2020 905 karma

OMG, I'm having this same problem - especially with a swing in points missed. Ironically, for me, I seem to do better on the really hard passages, but even still not predictably. It's driving me nuts and I just keep drilling to speed up making summaries. ... Curious to hear others' suggestions!!

It's so annoying, if I could stabilize / make reliable my RC points, I would be low/mid-70s in my scoring, GRRR.