Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Beginner Help with LSAT Flex Reading Comprehension

I'm new to 7sage and I have been going through the curriculum. I like the idea of low resolution summary but I'm curious as to how you'll are doing this on the LSAT Flex where you are unable to write on the passage. Are there any techniques that you'll use for annotation?

Background: I usually score around -6 on LR and LG, but my RC grades usually sit around 50% incorrect answers. I'd like to get this down to the same level as the other two sections before I proceed with studying them further. (I haven't implemented the Low Res/ High Res summary technique on a practice test yet, before I didn't have any strategy at all.)

Comments

• Auntie2020Auntie2020 Member
    552 karma

I also struggle with RC! I would say that the technique that JY recommends is more for improving our short-term memory, and it's not something we implement during the actual test day.

Right now I am trying to master RC by following all those steps and practicing them during the drills. During the actual test, I'll probably make little to no annotations.

• hopefullinghopefulling Member
    edited December 2020 905 karma

I write the summary down on my scrap paper. I try to be as succinct as possible, which is hard at times (I find I'm in a hybrid low-res / high-res summary state right now, with a desire to write out more than I have time for!).

I'm drilling to try to get faster. I do find that it engages me a lot more with the passage than when I highlight/use my memory, and also makes it MUCH faster to find a detail if I need to look back into the passage for something. Plus, it does make answering the questions faster, as a give-and-take (more time on the passage/summary, less time on questions). I just need to minimize my 'clock watching panic.'