Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

LORs when law is a second career

profile427profile427 Alum Member
edited May 2015 in General 213 karma
Hi All,

This is my first post here. I have a master's degree and have worked in a professional position for about six years (I'm freshly 31). I haven't taken a university course since 2008, and so I have a big span of time where I've no longer been a student. However, I have kept in contact with a few profs from undergrad and grad school.

My question is - how does someone like me handle letters of recommendation? I currently have the best boss that I've ever had, but I'm hesitant to a) reveal to this person that I'm working on exiting my current career path in 2016 and b) ask for a LOR, in light of the person losing me as an employee.

Is it better to just request LORs from previous professors? I have a few who would be willing, but it just seems odd to request a letter from a prof who oversaw my student work in 2006...Unfortunately, I have a history of "challenging" bosses, and so my current boss is the only one I feel would be relatively appropriate for a LOR.

Worst case...would a LOR from a colleague or direct report suffice? Kind of sounds odd...but I'm throwing it out there.

Please help!

Thank you

Comments

• Nilesh SNilesh S Alum Inactive ⭐
    edited May 2015 3438 karma