Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Do your scores vary greatly?

Hi. This is my first time posting on here!

Do your scores vary greatly? Mine do, and it's making me feel a little crazy. I have no idea if this happens to other folks, and, if it is preventable, what I can do about it.

My goal is to get a 170, at least. On Tuesday I got a 166- only 4 points away! Then today I scored a 158. What da fooq?

Granted, yes, I was feeling a little more tired today than I did the other day. Does tiredness cause an 8 point fall?! Should I always avoid taking a practice test if I'm not feeling up to it or is it good to sometimes push through (even if it means a lower score)?

I have no friends studying for the LSAT, much less friends who are trying to score 170+. Any advice on how to even out scores or even just confirmation that I'm not nuts would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Comments

• kmullins2525kmullins2525 Member
    82 karma

Individual PT scores are kind of a noisy indicator, especially if you're taking a lot of them. To prevent this panic at a drop in score, I chart my PT scores and insert a trend line. So, even if my scores are fluctuating, I can tell if they're trending up/down/flat. Here's my list so far, so you can see that big dips (up to 10 points!) do happen, but I really worked to reduce that by identifying and drilling my weaknesses rather than just madly redoing PTs. Good luck!

167 169 168 170 172 169 172 178 169 168 177 173 172 177 178 175 173 178

• noah-1noah-1 Member
    17 karma

@kmullins2525 said: