Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Improving at RC for Low Scorers

grantcarmann42grantcarmann42 Alum Member
edited May 2023 in Reading Comprehension 17 karma

I’ve been studying for the LSAT for about 7 months now. I’ve seen pretty significant improvements on LG and LR. Right now I’m usually at around -1 to -3 for LG and -5 to -7 for LR. Studying RC has been very difficult for me. I have repeatedly been getting -12 to -15 on RC sections despite putting a lot of effort into the core curriculum and drills. I know RC is one of the harder sections to improve on, but I really just want to improve so that I’m getting around -8 consistently. Does anyone have any strategies for low scorers on RC to improve by a few points? Is it worth it to try skipping the last passage all together and just focus on the first 3?

Comments

• applejacksapplejacks Core Member
    73 karma

Hey! I can answer your last question in regards to skipping the last passage all together. In my experience, going into a RC section with the mindset of going at 3/4 passages lowers my stress which in turn helps to avoid unnecessary wrong answers in the first 3 passages. As I mentioned, this approach has lessened my stress in RC sections and now after lots of practice and attacking RC this way, I am now much quicker and most of the time I can get to the 4th passage and knock out a few questions. For some context, I started out getting anywhere from -12 to -18, but now I sit consistently around -8 in this section. I hope this personal experience may help you!

• yhtkimyhtkim Core Member
    216 karma

Hi! I have three tips that I think compliment each other very well. I'll keep it brief.

1. Invest time in the passage. If you have a clear understanding of the passage, you'll be surprised to see how fast the questions go--and how accurate you are! It's a lot like LG.