Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I get more work/ volunteer experience to put on my resume for law school?

joannnaa.wanggjoannnaa.wangg Core Member
edited July 2023 in Law School Admissions 6 karma

Hi, I’m planning on taking the LSAT in July 2024 and I started studying a month ago. I’ve been working full time as a tattoo artist for 3 years and I graduated from my bachelors in 2021. I feel that I’ve acquired a lot of valuable skills as a tattoo artist such as communicating with clients, marketing, managing my schedule, I’ve traveled to work across Canada/ US, interacted with different types of people and learned how different shops manage/ operate. However, I’m worried that it wouldn’t be taken as seriously since I don’t work a conventional job.
I don’t have any corporate experience, I haven’t done any other work/ volunteer in the past 3 years and I didn’t assist in any research during undergrad. I’m wondering if I should pick up a volunteer or part time corporate job? I didn’t see any law related volunteer opportunities in my area but I did find some positions abroad. I’m open to all options and I’m still working but my schedule is very flexible. Thanks so much in advance for any advice!

Comments

• nicholas.leon96nicholas.leon96 Core Member
    edited July 2023 48 karma

I'm not expert but I would say no. From everything I've seen and gathered about the process, when it comes to "relevant" work experience they don't really count that stuff against you, only for you. It certainly wouldn't hurt but I don't think you should worry.