Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I apply?

brendanjbrendanj Alum Member
in General 39 karma
So I took the October LSAT and came in at a 169. My dream school is Stanford, which puts me on the 25th percentile in terms of LSAT score. My undergrad LSDAS GPA was calculated to be 3.68 which is a little below 25th percentile. The real GPA was a tenth of a point higher, but I suppose that is irrelevant for my purpose. I would call myself something of a non-traditional law student. I have a Master's in Music, as well as some post grad studies, and was a professional classical guitarist/instructor for five or so years and have traveled much of the world. I only list these last things out of hope that they might somehow set me apart on my application, though that may be wishful thinking. I'm looking for a little advice here. Should I apply? or would that be tantamount to lighting a $100 bill on fire?

Comments

• AlejandroAlejandro Member Inactive ⭐
    2424 karma
    you should apply bra!!
  • brna0714brna0714 Alum Inactive ⭐
    1489 karma
    Are you planning to retake in December?
  • brendanjbrendanj Alum Member
    39 karma
    I don't think I'll retake unless it's in the next application cycle. I live pretty close to a top 20 regional school for which my score should be good enough and I have in state tuition. So that's my backup.
  • brna0714brna0714 Alum Inactive ⭐
    1489 karma
    Go for it.
  • nordeendnordeend Alum Member
    349 karma
    My undergrad is in music and my aunt who taught at u of chicago (political theory) told me that it will make me stand out a little bit. She also went to yale for political theory, knows a lot about admissions and has lawyer friends so I think her opinion can be trusted. Make sure your essays are dead on and you have solid LORs then apply. Good luck!
  • J.H. SongJ.H. Song Alum Member
    201 karma