Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Reading Comp HELP

shaydamilanishaydamilani Member
in General 15 karma
I have been studying for the LSAT for a few months now and my score has tremendously improved. I am now scoring on average 165 consistently on prep tests, but what holds my score back is my reading comp section. I usually always score the lowest on RC. On my last prep test I took, I missed 2 in LG, 2/3 in LR, but missed 8 in RC, so it is really hindering my overall score. I am consistently having trouble with the humanities and social science passages in RC. I do not like those subjects and have had virtually zero practice since high school (I'm a Finance major). I have been practicing more on RC and trying to review, but I just don't know what I can do to help my score. I watched the webinar that was posted previously on the discussing and I am going to try her tips, but I just feel like I always second guess myself and narrow it down to two answers, but in the moment of the test I choose the incorrect answer. Any ideas on what I can do to try to work on my reading or any other tips? I am going to try to notate differently because I do find myself going back a lot and not being able to find anything because I underline everything as I read.

Comments

• Julia LJulia L Alum Member
    354 karma
    Hey @shaydamilani, I feel your pain! RC has been a struggle for me.

Are you consistently focusing on reading for structure and have you tried the memory method? How are your BR scores for RC? If you find your BR scores are high, then you're probably understanding the material well and what the questions are asking of you, but having difficulty executing it under time pressure. Here are a few things that have helped me (still working on execution!)