Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How to increase speed of RC? Annotation methods?

Hi I just started drills on RC and the speed is a huge problem for me. My average time to finish 1 passage is 10 mins! That means I can only finish 3 passages in a timed section :(. The blind review result is relatively good. I normally got -1 on a passage after BR, if I didn't fully understand the passage, I could got -3 sometimes after BR.

Any suggestions on how to improve the speed? Any annotation methods you recommend? Thanks!

Another question is: Unlike most LSAT takers, my big understanding problem lies in the passages of literature, art, history...etc... since my background is science/engineering. I have to read the passages at least 2 times before I can understand! Sadly most RC are about literatures and arts......

What is a good strategy for the drills? I am using 1-35 PTs as drills.

Thanks!

Comments

• blah170blahblah170blah Alum Inactive ⭐
    3545 karma
    Some might disagree but I would try cannibalizing some sections and do RC untimed but applying consistent annotation/reading strategies. I think you need to figure out if your annotation strategy is sound but you need to get faster OR if your annotation strategy isn't helping at all and it's a time suck.
  • diefor170diefor170 Member
    129 karma
    Thank you @blah170blah I don't have an annotation method yet. Any recommendations of what method I could use or any lectures/resources on it?
  • blah170blahblah170blah Alum Inactive ⭐
    3545 karma
    I tagged you in a thread that I think you might find helpful :)
    129 karma
    @blah170blah the thread is really helpful thanks!
  • Ron SwansonRon Swanson Alum Member Inactive ⭐
    1650 karma