Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Beginning to study for December LSAT-Any adice?

cynthiareevescynthiareeves Free Trial Member
in General 10 karma
I am just beginning to study for the December LSAT. I would love to hear some study advice. Thanks!

Comments

• AlexAlex Alum Member
    edited August 2016 23929 karma
    @cynthiareeves

Congrats on beginning your LSAT journey and taking the next step to your future!

Let's see, I have enough LSAT advice at this point to write a 20 page essay, but I guess I'll start with some basics.

The most important advice I think I could tell you is to set your LSAT goal as a score; not as a date. So don't feel like you have to take in December, or even should, especially if you are just beginning now. I know that prep companies often opine that 3-4 months of prep is sufficient, but it really isn't for the majority of test takers. You should take the test whenever you are ready. This is going to be one of the most important tests of your life. The best part is that you can decide to take it whenever you are ready.

My other big piece of advice is to not waste time looking for "silver bullets" or secrets to game the test. I wasted an entire 6 weeks being every LSAT book, sitting in on classes, asking for magic-180 study schedules. Seems like pretty obvious advice, but I wish someone had told me when I began...

My other piece of advice would be to spend a lot of time in the LSAT curricula stage. I think people often rush into taking PTs way before they are ready. Don't hesitate to spend 6 months just on learning the test inside and out. Which brings me to my last bit of advice...