Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Weird Personal Statement Topic

Harmmanb-1Harmmanb-1 Alum Member
edited February 2018 in Law School Admissions 126 karma

I was expelled from high school for getting into a physical altercation - it was in self defense and there were racial elements involved. I think this can be an interesting personal statement that shows growth; I am also thinking about getting into some of the psychological aspects of this event. However, this specific situation may be a rare one for the people reading personal statements in admissions, so I don't have a lot to reference it's appropriateness off of. I don't know what type of impression this will give off. I think I can pull it off, but I am unsure due to its novelty.

Comments

• PearsonSpecterLittUpPearsonSpecterLittUp Alum Member
    588 karma

I AM NOT AN EXPERT, but from what I was told, your personal statement should be about something you did / achieved relatively recently. I think that law schools want to see what you have done throughout your undergrad and not just hear about your high-school career. However, your topic is certainly aberrant, and maybe you can work in something about how that affected you and what you have done / learned since then?

• Harmmanb-1Harmmanb-1 Alum Member
    126 karma

I was not planning on making it my whole topic, but I wanted to put it in the first paragraph purely for context, to show how and why I developed a certain perspective/attitude. The rest of my personal statesmen would be about the things I did recently to change that perspective/attitude. I agree that an event in high school should take up the whole essay.

• _oshun1__oshun1_ Alum Member
    edited February 2018 3652 karma