Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Law School Medians

Hi Everybody,
I have a pretty dumb question for all you 7Sagers out there....
So I know what a median is (I think) - half of the applicants accepted had stats above that number and and half had stats below that number. Please correct me if I am mistaken.
If you have the median LSAT and GPA for a particular school, should you feel pretty good about getting accepted to that school or should you feel more like you have a 50/50 shot? Now I know acceptance depends on other soft factors - work experience, personal statement, LORs, etc., but I am pretty average when it comes to those things. I have 3 years work experience as a paralegal, I am not a URM, my essays and LORs will be well written but won't have anything absolutely incredibly special to say.

Comments

• MissChanandlerMissChanandler Alum Member Sage
    3256 karma

I believe your understanding is correct! I think if you are at both medians then that school should be a "target" school for you. Meaning, not sure enough that it's a safety school but there's a good enough chance that it's not necessarily a reach. I think I would feel better than 50/50 applying to a school where I was at both medians.

• eRetakereRetaker Free Trial Member
    2043 karma