Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

RC Plan of Attack

bstew2002bstew2002 Alum Member
Sorry about the title, but I'm a soldier...

I took the overseas June 2012 LSAT and scored in the 160s. I was usually -0 to -6 total for LR and LG combined, and -SHITLOAD for RC. My study plan was skimming the Powerscore Books and doing a few PTs. RC was always my worst part, and I I have since abandoned the false assumption that you cannot improve on RC. I base this on my experiences going through about 80% of the Ultimate curriculum.
Anyway, I agree with the general consensus to NOT read the questions first. I have always gone straight to the passage and then hit the questions. I have been -0 to -4 on the RC problem sets in the curriculum with the variance NOT reflecting the "difficult level" in which they are categorized. I don't see any compelling reason to change my approach, but I want to check with the crowd on something.

So, to get to the point: has anyone tried an intermediate approach of reading the question STEMS only before reading the passage?

Possible pro: picking up and marking answers during reading / more clear pre-phrasing of answers
Possible con: getting too involved in the details and neglecting the structure and viewpoints

Please share your thoughts/experience.

For now, I will keep doing what I have been doing. Thanks for our insight, friends.

Comments

• emli1000emli1000 Alum Member Inactive ⭐
    3462 karma
    I've heard of people skimming the questions before reading the passage. It's suppose to be quick so that you do not get too carry away when you're reading the passage. But many prep companies do not recommend it. I guess it really depends on you and what you think will be the best approach for you. Maybe you should attempt it and see if it helps out your score?
  • bstew2002bstew2002 Alum Member
    269 karma