Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Should I retake in November? Weird situation.

gettysburggettysburg Alum Member
edited October 2018 in General 126 karma

Hi all.

I graduated college last December and basically committed myself to studying for the LSAT since January of 2018. I worked a very flexible part-time job that allowed me to study more or less 15-20 hours a week. My original intention was to take the LSAT in June.

However, in hindsight, my studying was pretty ineffective. I went through the Bibles and took very detailed notes and then registered for 7sage in March (also taking very detailed notes on the lessons.) I kind of ignored practice tests or even practice sections. I guess a good analogy would be that I was reading books on how to play the piano without ever practicing on a piano.

I pushed my test to September and tried taking a practice test every week or so beginning in late July. By the time I had taken the test, I had maybe 7 or 8 PTs completed. Unfortunately, I didn't blind review them like I know I should've and I also didn't spend enough time on logic games (always my worst section.) My scores were in the mid 160s with a one time high of 170.

I sat for the September test and ended up with a 162. My diagnostic back in January was 153. I know I have the potential to do a lot better. My goal is a 170. I have a 4.0 GPA and I'd love to go to a T-14 or a T1 school on a large scholarship (I'm very debt averse.)

I left my job and will be committing myself to just taking PTs, timed sections, blind reviewing, and fool proofing from now until November. Is it possible to see an 8 point improvement by the November test? I hope to take 3 PTs a week between now and the exam.

Some other miscellaneous information: