Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Full Time Job

Hello All,

I have been working a full time job for the past 2 years since graduating college. I see a lot of people here have taken a part time job or quit working altogether to study for the LSAT. I think that's a great idea, but not realistic for me. I need the full time pay and health insurance that a job provides. If anyone has advice on how they balanced a full time job and studying I would love to know. I had to delay another year because I was unable to find the balance between studying and working. I am afraid that delaying the test will just end me up in the same position as I am in right now. #HELP

Comments

• TheShrimpEaterTheShrimpEater Alum Member
    46 karma

Hi there, I was in similar situation,( I have to stay full-time employed because of my visa). For the November test I studied a few months while working. My company is sort of flexible on working schedule, I'd start a bit early (~7 am) and leave early (~4 pm). I normally studied after work for about 2-3hr per day. It depends on the day though, sometimes I was very tired from work I just skipped study, but I tried to maintain minimum 15 hr study time each week. My personal opinion is to block a certain time during the day when you can sit down for 2 hour or so, some people say it's best to study first thing in the morning, I did in the afternoon. I usually took a day off on weekends. My other suggestion is to make a study plan and stick to it, during my studies I felt lost sometimes because I did make a specific plan for that week/day, then 2 hr later I barely started, but it was already 9 pm, that's one thing I wish I had done better. To be honest I think I would get a much better score if I had more time to study, but sometimes we don't have that choice. You still have a lot of time, good luck!!!

• aleland13aleland13 Alum Member
    158 karma